My favourite Country Houses…Chatsworth House

Each week I share with you my favourite Country Houses of the United Kingdom. This week let me introduce Chatsworth House in Derbyshire, home of the Cavendish family since 1549. The house, set in expansive parkland and backed by wooded, rocky hills rising to heather moorland, contains a unique collection of priceless paintings, furniture, Old Master drawings, neoclassical sculptures, books and other artefacts. This is one of my favourite houses in the UK as I am particularly fond of Georgian architecture and this house is an exquisite example. It is also home to the most stunning oil paintings by renowned artists such as Joshua Reynolds and Thomas Gainsborough who painted members of my family also. For a full and fascinating history of this incredible house, click here. To view larger images in the gallery, just click any thumbnail.


Leave a Reply

