America the beautiful..Why I love the USA

As anyone who knows me will contest, I am uncharacteristically British as I am so proud of being a Brit! My family can be traced back to the 1600’s, so being British is truly in my blood. Britain is my home and it will always be the place I adore, however I also love our Cousin land, the United States of America. I first travelled to America in 2001 and my first stop was of course New York City. As a lover of Fashion, this had always been my dream destination and it certainly lived up to it’s expectations as the greatest city on Earth. Walking through Manhattan dressed in a Chanel two piece and a pair of Manolo’s, I felt like Carrie Bradshaw, the only difference being that most people were far too busy to notice me. This is what I adore about New York, no matter what you look like, no matter what you do, you will always blend in; New York has seen it all, done it all and got the tee shirt. You can be whoever and whatever you want here, I realised why they called America the Land of the Free.

I have also travelled to other parts of the USA such as California, Florida and Boston (all of which were amazing in different ways) and I truly felt the warmth and sincerity from the American people. For some reason, the Americans adore British people and perhaps the easiest way to garner attention in the US is to simply speak. Once an American person realises you are British, they will be fascinated by you and promptly ask how you know the Queen! I did not reveal that I actually DO know the Queen, otherwise the attention and admiration would have been enough for me to never, ever want to leave. 

As a Brit visiting the USA you will notice the difference in social settings almost instantly. The American people do not dish out false pretence and flattery for the sake of it, if they like you they like you, if you are wearing a pretty dress they will tell you, if you are wearing an ugly dress, they will also tell you. It is this characteristic I admire most about the people of America. I don’t know if it is because I was brought up in a very British environment where decorum, tact and gracefulness were drilled into me or simply the fact of knowing where one stands, all of the time. 

As I sit here enjoying my Afternoon Tea, in the cold British Countryside, I cannot help but yearn to return to what feels like my second home..God bless the USA

Yours,

The Countess x

Leave a Reply

